I need some advice...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FuzzyOne, Nov 14, 2003.

1. FuzzyOne

FuzzyOne LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I've been visiting here for the past few months and gained a lot of info. Thanks all! I have a few questions that I can't find the answers to though.

I do lawn cutting including mulch and shrub trimming. Nothing major. I've been handling about 9 accounts for the past 5 years 1 day a week to make some extra money for my "hobbies". This year I finally registered a business name, changed my truck and trailer registrations over to commercial use, lettered my truck and finally obtained business insurance. I've always been legit with the state as far as sales tax is concerned and report my extra income. I plan on expanding to 2 days a week next season and do strictly residential properties.

Here's my questions. I have a Scag 48" belt that I have owned since new with about 500 hrs. I put about $500 into it last year (clutch, belts, etc.) The mower runs like the first day I bought it. A few months ago I bought a 44" Mini-Z thinking it would replace my Scag. Since my Scag has been sitting in the shed since, I promised my neighbor who is getting into the "business" that I would sell it to him for $1600. But now I'm thinking that I want a 36" for 2 of my accounts since it gets tough to maneuver with the Z. Should I sell the Scag and buy a new 36" or can I possibly swap out a my 48" deck for a 36" since the mower is mint? Any ideas on the cost of doing this? I'd really like to have a reliable backup and the 48" is a pain to get through a couple gates.

Second, I don't get involved in fertilizing and have no plans on getting licensed. Is it possible to work out some type of deal with a company for referrals? If I approach a small company and get some brochures or business cards from them to pass on to my customers that ask for the service, should I be getting something in return for the referral?