I need some major advice...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TennCuts, Feb 13, 2007.

1. TennCuts

TennCuts LawnSite Member

First I want to say 'hello' to everyone on the site...I found it a few days ago, and it has been very informative. This is my first post, so please forgive any 'posting goof-ups' I may be responsible for.

My situation is as follows. I work as a mechanical maintenance tech in the automotive industry. I carry a 2-way radio and respond to equipment breakdown issues in the production plant. I make $30 an hour with good insurance. I also work from 10:30p.m. til 7:00a.m. I have been at this job for 15 1/2 years, and I must say I hate my job. To the point....There is supposed to be an employee buyout offered next week, but it's very measly. after taxes, I would have maybe 45,000. in cash. I'd need 20k of it to pay my very modest house off. That leaves 25k to purchase a mower or two( I have a 12ft trailer already). I'd need a blower, and an edger...I've got a shindaiwa trimmer already. I naturally have no clients, and working nights with overtime has me too exhausted to do it part time to start. I know I could get equipment for much less than 25k, but that money is also what I have left to try to survive on and pay other regular bills with...so it won't last long...I also have a 99 tahoe...2wd that I could use to pull my trailer...although it's not ideal.

Many of you have been in the business for years, and I value your opinions. Should I stay where I'm at and make the $30 an hour with benefits and be unhappy? Is it worth taking the leap into the unknown when I have a wife and a teenage daughter? I'm pretty stressed over this, and I know that here very soon I'm gonna have to make a decision. Thanks very much for any and all input.

2. StBalor

StBalor LawnSite Senior Member