1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I think I'm going to buy a Walker in the Spring...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by martyman, Nov 3, 2006.

1. martyman

martyman LawnSite Member

Money is an issue (can't afford a diesel). The machine the dealer showed me yesterday is a 18hp Kohler with a 42" deck. I've been using a 34Z Gravely for three years now and I'm hoping to get into the more rich area's. The main problem I have is that I have a jeep and a 6'x10' so most of the season I would have to leave the chute open on the back of a walker until fall. The last time I was on a Walker was over 10 years ago and I think it was a really small engine and we beat the snot out of it :hammerhead: doing every horrible commercial property full of litter. I alway's make a decision and mid season I kick myself for not investing in a little bit better equipment (my blower is weak and my trimmer is the cheapest commercial model). I just bought a new Toro 21" 4cycle and it's great for mulching and bagging leaves, so I'm hoping a Walker will be a good investment...I just can't decide deck size (because of trailer) or if I should spend that much on a machine that most of the season I can't collect the grass. I remember the old Walker scuffing the lawn like my Gravely does, is that still a problem?

Thanks if you can help...
  2. dave k

dave k LawnSite Bronze Member