I want to lease my buisness.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LAWnENFORCER, Jan 29, 2004.

1. LAWnENFORCER

LAWnENFORCER LawnSite Member

I have been doing lawn maintenance for approximately 9 years. In the last couple of years my buisness has grown. I work LE full time and I need a break. What I want to do is "contract" someone to run my buisnees.

I would let them "lease" my equipment for a very fair price and ask for at least 60% gross. I would be responsible for major non-negligent repairs and they would be responsible for minor costs; i.e gas, oil string, etc. They would have to sign a no compete contract and would receive a 10-99 from me. I will still take estimates and collect the money. Basically, I want to be the "suit and tie guy", without any employees.

Could this work?
    Thanks for the input.

KB LAWN

2. promower

promower LawnSite Bronze Member

Essentially thats what you would have though is one employee that would be making a killing off you. If you still have to take care of all the expenses (major expenses) and buisness end and your "employee" would get to take home 40% of the company gross I would say thats a pretty good deal for the other guy. Make it easier on yourself just hire someone and pay them $10-$12 an hour.

3. AuburnGuy

AuburnGuy LawnSite Senior Member

I don't have much experience in that area, but if you were to ask me to lease your equip, pay for gas, maintenance, etc, and only get 40% of the money, I would say you are crazy. I would not be making any money. Say you make $60/hour working I would get my $24 minus gas and maintenance cost, minus taxes, minus leasing cost, I might as well take a job making 8-10 per hour that will give me some benefits. I may be missing something, but that is my opinion.

4. Shuter

Shuter LawnSite Bronze Member

Sounds like you should hire some people to work for you and @ the same time expand the customer base. Have one good employee be your right hand man, which would free up your time.