Ideally, What should I be running?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Brieldo, Jun 7, 2002.

1. Brieldo

Brieldo LawnSite Member

Guys,
    Being only 18, I'm no expert when it comes to the lawncare industry, however, I'd really appreciate it if you could give me some insight on some of these questions...Here's the scenario.
    My brother and I take care of 9 properties for a large construction company here in town...they are centrally located along about miles of highway. Their size ranges from a 15 minute job with a 60" JD 445 to about 2 hrs or more on the same machine, just for mowing. In some of these places, the trimming is very time consuming as there are pine trees, building edges, fence lines, telephone poles, railroad tracks, and other areas where the mower cannot get into. We also take care of 3 other commercial properties which take about an hour on the 445, plus trimming. My question is this. Ideally, should we be ditching the tractor for the amount of grass we're mowing. It seems like for what we're doing, a tractor just isnt the answer. I'm trying to pursuade my dad to let us get a Exmark Lazer Z EPS, but I need some ammunition to go at him with. The other issue with this whole deal is that I'm more than capable at selling myself and my product, but I'm a little leery of getting jobs in town which require perfection, and then taking my tractor on it which can scalp, miss, etc...I dont want to get all these jobs and then not be able to deliver. Do you guys have any guidance for me? Oh, and dont just say, "Get a ZTR.." I need some substantiated reasons=)
    Sorry this is so long... :dizzy:

Thank you!

2. maple city

maple city LawnSite Senior Member

I am interested to know why at age 18, your Dad is buying your equipment. Time to get out there and finance your own.