im a rookie.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TopCut, Mar 20, 2005.

1. TopCut

TopCut LawnSite Member

Hey i have learned a lot from reading your posts and replys. but i still have a few questions. i am wandering if some of you would like to give a new guy some advice.

2. Eho

Eho LawnSite Member

If you have any specific question, feel free to ask and I m sure you ll get good answers.
    1 whatever you do, always do a GREAT job...as long as every lawn you mow looks great, you ll make people happy
    2 Be very friendly to your customers, treat them well and with respect and it will pay off...take the time to visit with them and get to know them
    3 Use commercial grade equipment...I started out using homeowners equipment to get started, but after one year of that, I had enuf money saved to get commercial equipment...Spending more money on commercial is worth it for sure
    4 Be organized....keep track of everybody who owes you...try to come up with a good schedule for payments and when you mow for people.
    Hope these help...work hard....do good work and be nice to your customers!
    EHO

3. TopCut

TopCut LawnSite Member

Thats good advice. Like you, I only have residential equipment. But i am an ASE cet. mechanic, so i dont think i will have any problems there. But i do plan to buy commercial grade equipment soon. The questions i have are about scalping. Is it good? Does it help? And how much should i charge for a spring clean up? What all should i do for the spring clean up? And am i too late? It seems that i see a lot of other companies out, but when i go out to try and get accounts it seems like they are not thinking about lawn care yet. I need help. Any help would be very much appreciated.

4. Eho

Eho LawnSite Member

Spring clean ups usually include whatever it takes to get the lawn looking nice...raking up old leaves, trimming hedges, etc. I would say that around 45 bucks an hour is a decent rate for spring clean ups starting out.
    EHO