1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I'm going for it... Need some planning help.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by JROD, Feb 1, 2005.

1. JROD

JROD LawnSite Member

Well I have decieded that I'm going to open a small landscaping business. I'm a college student and have been considering of majoring in landscape design or landscape architecture but want to make sure this is a field I would like to go into. I have mowed and done small landscaping work in the past, I hate mowing but kind of liked the landscaping part.

Here is my question. I'm trying to work up a plan of what to offer this season. I do not want to get into huge jobs but am thinking of things such as:
    Ponds - Walkways - Raised Beds - Gardens - Aeration - Mulching - Pruning/Trimming, etc.

What are some other smaller jobs which have a high profit margin?

Also, I'm not sure what equiptment to start out with. So far I have been thinking of buying a mantis tiller. Regarding the Mantis Tiller, is garden cleaning/tilling and covering with mulch a high profit area?

I'm assuming i'll need some good shovels, pruners, saws, and other tools. What should I look for and what brands are good?

Thanks much!
  2. absolutelawnman

absolutelawnman LawnSite Member

Ponds are a pretty big job but are profitable, as far as the Mantis goes I bought one and use it more than I thought I would. In Oklahoma we have heavy clay soil so it is limited to exsisting beds, and a few other jobs and from driving through New Mexico I am sure you have pretty tough soil. I use it alot to mix new soil and ammendments and to prep for fall/spring color.

If you know a builder you may hit them up, typically not a big custom home but someone that is putting in smaller tract home they like to keep the cost low and go pretty fast.

Good Luck