i'm just now starting out, in business, and i'm wondering what i should do

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by cubbie, Oct 9, 2005.

1. cubbie

cubbie LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I'm just starting out in business, and i have no money, to get equipment, i have a rake, trash bags, a trash bag holder, My dad, says wait until, March and put a ad in the paper, and my mom says go out now and winter and take donations, and get my name out that way, and go rake leaves, and shovel, snow, which way should i go :help:

2. splatz100

splatz100 LawnSite Senior Member

get a job and make some money for next season.

I dont think people would give donations to you....

3. Randy J

Randy J LawnSite Bronze Member

Start with your neighbors. Surely there must be some older people around you that would be willing to pay to have their leaves raked and their lawns cleaned up, not to mention sidewalks shoveled. Make sure you do the job to the best of your ability and maybe they'll hire you next spring.
    Good luck.

4. cubbie

cubbie LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

or would i be suited to get on at a mowing/plowing, and go that way, b/c i want to start plowing at some point, but i know more about mowing, then plowing

5. Kelly's Landscaping

Kelly's Landscaping LawnSite Platinum Member