I'm just starting out

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ChadD, Apr 14, 2006.

1. ChadD

ChadD LawnSite Member
    from NC

I actually havn't even started yet, but I moved into a new development, which isn't even a third complete, and I think I'm in a good area to start up a lawn service. I'm in Concord NC. All I plan on using at first is a push mower, gas trimmer, and a broom. I'll get a blower and edger when I can afford it.

I go to school at night and do nothing all day (just got out of the military) so I need an income. I've read through tons of posts and this is a great site. I'm glad I stumbled upon it.

I'm pretty lost when it comes to estimates and what to charge, but I was thinking about just getting out there, handing out a lot of flyers, and seeing what happens. I figure I can learn pricing as I go. All the lots are under an acre, with really small yards (some are a little bigger) so I was thinking maybe $30 per job. Here is a pic of the neighborhood. I don't think these lawns will take more than two hours:

http://pic2.picturetrail.com/VOL986/3583148/9203985/132802836.jpg
    This is what the landscapeing looks like when the houses in the area are first built:
    http://pic2.picturetrail.com/VOL986/3583148/9203985/132802657.jpg

I'm also lost when it comes to contracts and how to work all that stuff. I'll keep reading though. Anybody else do good starting out this way? I'm also interested in how you all handle small jobs like this. Per cut? Weekly contracts, monthly contracts, or yearly? Any advice specific to the info I gave would be great!

Chad

2. jbone

jbone LawnSite Member