I'm looking for a new 48" mower

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Andyshine77, Jan 23, 2006.

1. Andyshine77

Andyshine77 LawnSite Member

Hallo everyone.:waving:

I'm looking for a new 48" hydro walk-behind to start my new endeavor with. Now I'm not a total novice ( I know my 2 cycle equipment), however I need some help in choosing a mower. I'm looking to spend no more than 5,000 hopefully less. What are my options as far as brands Scag, eXmark etc. What are your thoughts on the Cub-Cadet (Lesco) hff1748 ?

Thanks for the help Andy.

2. 6'7 330

6'7 330 LawnSite Bronze Member

Scag and Exmark are both excellent brands.We run Exmark, excellent mowers,well built, the cut is top notch,and they lay a beautiful stripe.Scag is a mower built like a tank,good cut,although I think Exmark's cut tops the Scag on my turf conditions.We have no experience with cub cadet, lesco,but I have read excellent feedback here on lawnsite about them.The feedback suggests the Lesco,cuts good at a very good price.I would suggest you demo if at all possible.

3. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

Used 48" eXmark TTHP.

4. Rhett

Rhett LawnSite Bronze Member

You have listed them in order of my preference. I run exmark and lesco. Have run scag but there is no dealer close by. Exmark Viking will run you right around 4700 with mulch kit. Cut is good and love the ECS. The Lesco will run you about 3700 and also is a good mower but has several areas that the exmark beats it. ECS, exmark cut is better, lesco mulch kit is nothing but a plate, parts on hand at dealer. Most annoying trait on my new lesco is that it only has an operator presense switch on the left grip. On the lesco stay away from the 52 deck as it tends to become flexible with time and the cut suffers.

5. rfed32

rfed32 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Hatboro