1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I'm no expert, but fill me in

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by smcunningham, Dec 11, 2006.

1. smcunningham

smcunningham LawnSite Senior Member

How come I see alot of the major landscape companies laying sod plantining
    grass this time of the year....brickman,Rupperts out laytonsville
  2. procut

procut LawnSite Bronze Member

Its called dormant seeding. The seed is dormant in the cold weather. The frost will get some of it, but the rest will germinate in the spring when the warm temps. arrive. Pretty much the same thing with the sod.
  3. mdvaden

mdvaden LawnSite Bronze Member

The fact that it can be cut and delivered says something.

But I don't like laying it this time of year.

Maybe they figure that if it doesnt dehydrate, it can control some erosion - maybe get them their paycheck.

It seems to work, but it's probably not the ideal way to approach landscape installation.

The latest I've installed sod, was probably a November.

Anybody here ever installed in in winter, and got some kind of roots to grow into the ground - at all?
  4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I'll tell you what happens...more times than not. seeding at this time of year, is fine. No harm done...it stays dormant, and hopefully won't get a warm snap to germinate. If it doesn't germinate...it's safe.
    Sod, on the other hand...is a whole different thing...completely dangerous. The sod lays on top of the ground (even if rolled in). The roots, exposed, freeze up, and the sod suffers from dessication. After these roots are burned, they will NOT pick up in the spring, and be able to transfer. The sod....never takes.
  5. BQLC

BQLC LawnSite Senior Member