I'm now a high tech redneck, woohoo !

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by topsites, Sep 1, 2006.

1. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Why wouldn't you know it, with the tropical storm hitting the East Coast of the USA, sometime between 6am and 11am the power at my house went out. Although I reported it immediately (about 11:30am), as of 6:20pm EST my On-grid electricity is still not responding.

I mean, there is nothing to do without power. You can't watch TV, there are no lights or anything working (thou I do have an oil lamp) and you can't cook or vacuum or do laundry either. Since it's storming outside, working on the car or the lawn is out of the question, you know the fridge will be ok for 24-48 hours but you also know you can't spend all that time eating... And last but certainly not least, although you knew it all along, you know you can't resist but to click the magic button as the dark truth of the worst evil of dreaded eternal doom finally dawns on you: NO COMPUTER!!! And if that's not the worst, you do know the Internet works without current, you just can't access it without A/C.

Life is over.
    Or, is it?

Having lived through a 2-week power outage 3-4 years ago when Hurricane Isabelle came through here, I decided once and for all this was the last time I would find myself without power.

So, I went out and got a generator. You're really supposed to get a line conditioner (like a voltage stabilizer but considerably more expensive) to ensure it won't fry sensitive electronic equipment (read: computer), but since I'm a redneck I decided to put my two UPS boxes (Uninterruptable Power Supplies) to the test - They are in a sense voltage stabilizers, so I hooked it all up and this post is proof in the pudding that no die-hard Internet/computer user will EVER be offline for too long.

Product purchased: Briggs & Stratton 5.5hp 2,400w electricity generator.