1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Impact Wrench question

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by troberts, Jan 7, 2003.

1. troberts

troberts LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

A while back, people on the forum were mentioning that they were using an impact wrench to remove blades.

I have an eXmark metro 48 WB (3 blades), and am wanting to use an impact wrench to remove the blades. I just got a compressor and wrench.

How is this done? Do you just put it on the top bolt, and hit it, or do you need to imobilize the blade first?

Do you guys use the wrench to tighten them also?

Sorry to sound stupid, but I've never used one before. Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

2. Heller Landscaping

Heller Landscaping LawnSite Member

Hold the spindel with your foot while loosen it. The wrench does the work not you, and yes you can use it to install the blades. DO NOT BY ANY MEANS HOLD THE BLADE WITH ANY PART OF YOUR BODY.
  3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I don't hold anything when I use the impact. It hammers it right off anuways. When putting the blades back on, always start them by hand, then apply the impact again and you're all set. ;)
  4. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

Get the biggest gun you can afford. Eventually you will hit a stump or the curve and jamb one blade so tight you'll need all the power possible.

I got a Husky from Home Depot for about $30.00 should have gotten a bigger one. It'll handle everyday stuff, just not jambs like I described above.

They make a really cool sound too!

5. ple_1969

ple_1969 LawnSite Member

Fire up the compressor and let it get to about 100 – 120 PSI. Then just put the impact wrench on the nut and pull the trigger. That’s all you have to do.

6. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member