1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Inclosed trailer or no

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by PhilipMoon, Jul 23, 2004.

1. PhilipMoon

PhilipMoon LawnSite Member

Hi guys. This is my first posting!!!! Yeeeeha!!!!

I'm just starting out in this business. What's everyones take on inclosed trailers (Pace American Summit) verses open air?? I'm buying a new house in the Charlotte NC area and my thought was if I had an inclosed trailer, I would'nt need to build a polebarn to keep my gear out of the weather. I could just work on my mowers in the garage.

Are these trailers too much of a pain to pull around? Other than the price (I've got the bucks!) what would be some drawbacks?

Thoughts?

2. EastTnLC

EastTnLC LawnSite Member

I think it would be a good investment(weather wise) Plus you would have a little more security. If your truck can pull it I dont see why not. It would look even better if you got your logo put on it and lettered. Thats just my opinion. But Yeah I would go for it! Good luck

3. jim dailey

jim dailey LawnSite Senior Member

I have a 20' enclosed trailer that I built. I live in the northeast, with the snowy winters, but I go to Florida for the entire winter. I pack the trailer chock full with my equipment for the winter. I leave it here in the N.E. while I am in Florida. Equipment is safe and dry for the duration. Everything is right there for the spring, once I come back. I just start everything up for the season, and off I go to work. It is just great.

4. txlawnking

txlawnking LawnSite Bronze Member