Incorporating, and business credit

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by EgansCountryGardens, Feb 18, 2007.

1. EgansCountryGardens

EgansCountryGardens LawnSite Member

I'm not new to the world of landscaping. I've been a sole prop landscaper with a fairly successful company for the last 8 years, and we do nearly 1 mil. per year at the moment. Well, I need to incorporate for liability reasons, and my question is - After we reorganize and incorporate, does business credit get based off of my fed. tax id no. or does it go through social security number of me personally? This is what I'm trying to avoid. - Using social security number. Does anyone know this. And how long does it take to establish business credit anyway. I'm not talking about the thread about staples credit cards for $250. I'm talking about large items, like truck and equipment purchases.

STONE SCAPES LawnSite Member

yes you will have to use your ss#. Family has been in business for over 25 years in the photo industry. we where incorporated and dad had to put it under him every time and these were 250k notes that had to be paid off in 5 years.
  3. Ecoscape01

Ecoscape01 LawnSite Senior Member

I wondered about this for the future. I am a sole prop and haven't started yet but I looked into the different aspects of sole prop. vs. inc. or llc but I thought that when you incorporate, the business becomes a completely seperate entity and credit is granted based on being able to show positive figures on prof/loss sheets and also by using company assets for securing loans, etc?
  4. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

Let me get this straight... you've been in business for 8yrs, gross almost $1mil per year, and your business has no credit whatsoever? I find that truly hard to believe.

As far as a corp. having credit, you will most likely have to offer some type of personal guarantee on anything until you establish business credit in substantial forms. :rolleyes: