Increasing blade tip speed?

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by MikeKle, Jul 15, 2008.

1. MikeKle

MikeKle LawnSite Platinum Member

I have been thinking about trying to increase the blade tip speed on my turf tracer lately too see if I can cut better and faster. Has anyone "re-pulleyed" their mowers? Pros and cons of doing this? any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

How old is it? I'm no expert, but I believe that Exmark pretty much pushed the MAX blade tip speed allowed for many years now. I really don't know the physics of it, or how fast blades can really spin and still be structually OK, but I feel like the speeds these commercial machines are running are fast enough!

More than likely, just a guess, if you feel like the blades aren't turning fast enough, is the engine running at the proper RPM's? A slow engine, even by a few hundred rpm's can kill the preformance of the blades. The engine should be running 3650 rpm or so. Depending on the make of the engine and mfg. year I know I've seen some that spec up to 3800 rpm on the engine.

3. OldLawnMowerMan81

OldLawnMowerMan81 LawnSite Member

Hi,

Is it true that on lawn mowers that are self propelled (whether the power drive is by gears, chains or belts), that if you engage the drive it will reduce the blade tip speed and not increase it?

On a 1968 Allis-Chalmers WB2235S mower, the engine (a 3.5-hp Briggs & Stratton) is governed by the mower manufacturer at 4,000 rpm (I kid you not!).

Without the power drive engaged, the blade tip speed is 23,038 fpm (unfortunately, this figure exceeds 2,000 fpm above the now-outdated 21,000 fpm limit established by the USASI, called ANSI as of mid-1969). For mowers with a 22" blade, until 1969, the maximum engine speed allowed was up to 3646 rpm (today that's 3299 rpm max). Thereafter, it's up to 19,000 feet per minute (fpm).