insurance and legit

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by JrSlivkalandscaping, Sep 28, 2006.

1. JrSlivkalandscaping

JrSlivkalandscaping LawnSite Member

im 17 right now and im turning 18 over the winter i was wondering is it worth going legit and gettin insurance and all for the year coming up? next year ill be a senior in highschool. this year has been a great year i have about 25 or so accounts only cause im in school. i was thinking about goin legit because i hire some of my friends from school and i would like to get insureance too just in case something does happen. im also geting my pesticide licence when i turn 18 too.

by the way ive been landscaping for about 4 years now and my little business grew pretty big would this be a good idea? :confused:
    Any input would be great:)
  2. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member

Of course you need to get insurance and be as legit as possable. If not insured and something happens , you will spend the rest of your life paying for that mistake. Also if you get your pesticide liscense, you will prob have to have proof of Ins to keep the liscense

3. MattsMowing3535

MattsMowing3535 LawnSite Senior Member

Anyway a 15-16 year old can get insured nad be legit? I want to get my license this spring maybe if I get enough buisness I dont want to get in trouble for running a non insured illegal buisness or if that is even a crime. . .I just dont want to break something major on accident without insurance
  4. VBsnow

VBsnow LawnSite Member