Insurance help

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by newbomb, Jan 4, 2005.

1. newbomb

newbomb LawnSite Senior Member

I am a solo operator. No employees. I carry 1 million dollar contractors general liability. The policy also covers lost or stolen equipment. I am principly mowing and light landscaping (no retaining walls or tree work). I want to add Power washing this year. My currrent premium is $775 annually and I expect an increase. ( no claims just average increase). To add power washing my agent wants to put that on a seperate policy to the tune of $600 more annually. The total due April 05' approximately $1,400.

I thought I had read on here several people discussing insurance a while back and as I recall their rates where about half of that.( solo operators of course).

Any thoughts or advise on these numbers? Too high? Just right?

2. splatz100

splatz100 LawnSite Senior Member

I also am in need of insurance pricing for a single operator

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Give Erie Ins. a call, they are the cheapest I've found.
  4. splatz100

splatz100 LawnSite Senior Member

do they have a website??
  5. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member

What reason does your insurance company give you for such a high rate just for power washing???

6. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Erie Insurance Group

They only insure in these states though:
    District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, North Carolina, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia....
  7. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member

I am looking at changing insurance companies...anybody know of a cheaper one in MO or KS??
  8. new2nash

new2nash LawnSite Member