Insurance in Grand Rapids Michigan

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by aclassic, Mar 18, 2005.

1. aclassic

aclassic LawnSite Member

Hey folks,
    i'm new to owning my own lawn company and i'm going to be going part time with this. I am probably going to have about 20 accounts doing lawn and fert/pesticide service.
    I know i need to be pesticide licensed and so does the business, and i'm in the process of getting those taken care of. i have already set up my LLC, i've bought my equipment, and i'm getting contracts signed. but i dont know where to get insured here in Grand Rapids. I'm from indiana so i know nothing about any insurance companies here.
    Any help would be great.

2. DeWitt Lawncare

DeWitt Lawncare LawnSite Member

I'm in the Lansing area and it seems to me that most of the Lansing Insurance companies contract that type of insurance out. For example, I went through Allstate and was quoted about $900 for the year. The policy however is through a company in Minnesota. It's an "Inland Marine" policy which is pretty standard. A friend of mine got the same quote from State Farm insurance who got their quote from the same company in Minnesota.

So, I guess my advice is to call your homeowner's insurance company and they should take care of you.

3. procut

procut LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm in St. Johns, and just got a quote the other day from a company from Acuity. It was 402/year for 1 million liability and $8000 equiptment. The agent said this company gives pretty good rates because all they do is business insurance and workman's comp.

4. DeWitt Lawncare

DeWitt Lawncare LawnSite Member

My quote was for 16,000 in equipment. Do you think that would make a $400 a year difference?

P.S. Procut, you wouldn't happen to need a 6 X 12 trailer would ya?

5. Grassmechanic

Grassmechanic LawnSite Silver Member