Insurance Premium raise??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MOW ED, Jan 26, 2002.

?

How much did your rates increase?

1. No increase

4 vote(s)
    22.2%
  2. Increase of 1% to 15%

8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  3. Increase of 16% to 30%

4 vote(s)
    22.2%
  4. Increase greater than 30%

2 vote(s)
    11.1%
  1. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

It might be the wrong forum but I think it is relevent to mowing.

How many of you had an increase in your insurance rates for your business?

I am a solo operator (+ one) and I have an increase of around 40% this coming season.

I never had a claim so these sharks are getting their moneys worth from me. I admit that I was spoiled with a relatively low rate for a great policy but it gets to be robbery at some point.

I know that I have to pass it along to the customer but when does it end?

2. Ed
    Guy join the club ours goes up every year despite never have filed a claim
    We are gonna go a little shopping around and find a different company this year.
    The first three years it went up were not steep increases the last two have been so its time for a change.

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

My insurance company has informed me that there will be a raise this year. They raised it last year about 25% but I suspect they will raise it even further this year. They are blaming the events of Sept. 11 and the increased cost of reinsurance due to those events for the increase. I will be shopping for a new company.

4. INS. CO's do not like to give you your money back.

Mine has actualy gone down over the years, but I had to file a claim in Dec for some blowers stolen off a truck.

5. SJR Lawncare

SJR Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Mine went up a little too, maybe 15%, but I thought it was already too high. I think I'll do some shopping this season.

SJR

6. Lawn Dog2001

Lawn Dog2001 LawnSite Bronze Member