Invoices...?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Cheesedawg1, Nov 5, 2003.

1. Cheesedawg1

Cheesedawg1 LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

This is my first year in the business. I got a question for invoices.... or what the purpose is exactly. Do you guys drop a bill or notice telling the customer you came on a certain date or something else? If soo were can you buy the invoices to drop off in mailboxes after a lawn cut for the forgetful customers who dont ever know when you came by.

2. Evan528

Evan528 LawnSite Silver Member

The purpose of invoices is to get paid.......Most of my customers I do not see but a few times a year....some I dont see for a year at at a time (all communication is through phone or email) so sending them a invoice once a month is the only way to go about get paid! Besides....sue is easier worryin about one payment a month per customer then 4 or 5....

3. Cheesedawg1

Cheesedawg1 LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

Thanks for the info Evan.

4. LB Landscaping

LB Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Evan hit it on the head. I send out invoices (mail) once a month (1st day of the month) and have a due date of the 14th. 99% of them come in within a few days I have a few stragglers but I always see it.

5. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

Hi Cheesedawg1,

If you want to leave your invoices at the site, maybe use a door hanger envelope? It's not legal to place anything in a mailbox.

Read this post for more info.

Postmaster called

6. ElephantNest

ElephantNest LawnSite Bronze Member
    from La.

Illegal in my area. They will collect them, and count them, and charge me $.37 each or pay a fine. Paper boxes are fine, no mail boxes here.

7. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest