Irrigation program

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by frank's lawncare, Jan 4, 2004.

1. frank's lawncare

frank's lawncare LawnSite Member
    from PA

I was just wondering on how everyone who installs irrigation systems learned how to do this kind of work.now i know you just cant buy a system and read the directions and just slap it together.so i am a small time landscaper out of PA. and i was intrested in getting into this feild to specialize in and wanted to see if there is a school out there to learn this type of work.also i have noticed that in my ares which has tons of work and its landscapers if i founf that there are only 2-4 people listed in the yellow pages that do this type of work. is there a market out there for this type of work or is it that hard to???????????????

thanks,

2. rkbrown

rkbrown LawnSite Senior Member

In Texas you need to be licensed to install for others (homeowners can do their own without license). You are required to take a 40 hour basic irrigators course prior to taking the state exam.

3. frank's lawncare

frank's lawncare LawnSite Member
    from PA

well thanks Rob i should find out if i need a license in my state thanks again.

4. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

5. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

The Jess Stryker Irrigation Tutorial site (link above) is a very good start. I love that site.

After reading that, however, you really need to move on to the books, "Cross Connection Control Manual - 6th Edition (330062) PNS-AWWA" and "Landscape Irrigation Design Manual (Rainbird, 1998 version)" Both excellent books.