is a floating deck and hydro important

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by BRAD2723, Mar 30, 2004.

1. BRAD2723

BRAD2723 LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I have looked at both floating decks and fixed and have mixed opinions from sales reps. I have also looked at hydo and belt drives. I am thinking of using a 48 in deck in either a toro or scag.
    i am just starting out, I would appreciate any opinions. Im not really set on brand. Any help is appreciated

2. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member

I can speaK from experience unless you are mowing flat and even ground go with the floating deck. The fixed deck will tend to scalp the turf on dips and uneven ground. I own both scag and toro and I like the t-bar controls on the toro over the pistol grip controls, MY best advice is to try out both machines and see which machine you like best. the scag and toro and both mow and stripe great, just my 2 cents worth

3. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member

I forgot to answer on the hydro,both of my mowers are gear drive. A hydro unit will have a reverse on it, the gear drive has a reverse that you have to assist with. In other words you have to muscle the machine to back it up with almost no help from the mower with a gear drive. And on a hill the gear drive has a tendency to free wheel or run a way with you going down hill as where the hydro will hold itself at a constant speed going down hill. I hope this explains it good enuff, if not other guys on here are better at wording and explaining things and welcome to lawnsite

4. YardMeister

YardMeister LawnSite Member