Is a part time Fert & Squirt Biz worth it?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Dave Maher, Jan 31, 2007.

1. Dave Maher

Dave Maher LawnSite Member

I have been working for a company for the past 3 years doing applications. I have my NJ Core, Cat 3a,b,c License. I just got hired by a local town Full Time working in the Public Works Dept. I am considering opening a fert & squirt business because my workday now ends at 3:30 pm. I'm just looking for some ideas to spend the rest of my day. What do you think?

2. Shades of Green LService

Shades of Green LService LawnSite Bronze Member

I would start out mowing first and as you get accounts you can add that later. This method worked great for me, now all of my cut accounts are Fert and Squirt as well. The profit margin would be greater by buying a used COMM. Mower ( there are always good deals in the news paper classifides) as opposed to Very pricey fert and pesticides. If you get Mow accounts the other WILL follow. Good Luck

PS. If you do advertise, advertise both when you do get accounts let the cust know immediately to get the jump on Tru Burn, Scotts for next season. Chances are most people are probably locked in to those companies already.

3. teeca

teeca LawnSite Bronze Member

i would go with the fertilizing for a few reasons

1. mowing is a very competitive market with a ton of low ballers
    2. people that fert/squert need to buy chemicals = more level playing field
    3. having somebody do fert apps while you mow.. they want green and dump a ton of N on the property and you get stuck cutting it!
    4. mowing needs to be done weekly, so if you get a rain day, guess who's working sat and sun... you! fert can be done whenever.
    5. then start mowing if thats what you realy want.

4. Shades of Green LService

Shades of Green LService LawnSite Bronze Member

6 of 1 - 1/2 a dozen of another.The 2 will coincide eventually.

5. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic