Is an edger really worth it vs. my string trimmer? Pro's check in:

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by driver5, Aug 5, 2008.

1. driver5

driver5 LawnSite Senior Member

Ive been doing this for years, and I honestly think that Im a pro at cutting in and maintaining an edge. I use a reverse 45 degree angle ( using my string trimmer )

Ive got a shinny combo unit and Im thinking about buying the edger attachment. Is it really worth having one? Is it any better than using my string trimmer?

Toss em at me: all the pro's n con's and everthing inbetween.

2. freshprince94

freshprince94 LawnSite Bronze Member

I use only edgers. Down south, the grass looks bad if edged with a weedeater.

PROS: Leaves a nice, clean cut with no scalp spots, cuts through overgrown edges, edges faster than trimmer, less line used, doesn't hack up plants or other objects near
    CONS: Extra $, walk back to trailer to get machine, need a high powered edger for overgrown edges

I use a Stihl KM 90 R with the straight shaft edger, never a trimmer. It has plenty of power (28.4 cc).

3. mississippiturf

mississippiturf LawnSite Senior Member

I know you'll get different opinions on this topic, as I've seen in previous posts, but I like to use a walk-behind edger for the first cut on a curb, sidewalk, or drive way and use the string trimmer after its been "trenched" out. It always seems to me that the first initial cut using a trimmer takes a bit longer and throws up a lot more debris.

4. Genlandscape

Genlandscape LawnSite Member

We use my line trimmers about 75% of the time. One week out of each month every lawn gets "recut" with a fresh edger balde. We have very sandy soil here, and with the rains the edges tend to wash in so we clean them out once a month. In my opinion the trimmer line leaves a cleaner edge than the blade.

5. driver5