is it the valve?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by bigH2Obill, Sep 24, 2007.

1. bigH2Obill

bigH2Obill LawnSite Member

I'm not a professional, and not an exceptionally gifted DIY'er, but I think the valve is the problem and that I can probably handle it. The water man knocked this morning and let my wife know that our bill was going to be huge and we had to have a leak somewhere. It's been so dry here that I haven't noticed any damp spots, until now. There's a leak from the lowest sprinkler head, and I think it's because the valve won't close all the way. They're rainbird heads, manual turn. Unfortunately I can't just cut the water off to the sprinklers without cutting it off for the entire house. I took a pic of the valve, and you can see that it's not perpendicular, and I can't turn it further. Does it need replaced, or can it be repaired, and what exactly am I getting myself into? Thanks very much in advance for any help!

222152420070924Image0001.JPG

2. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

Is this the valve you use to turn on the sprinklers?

3. bigH2Obill

Yes...quarter turn counter-clockwise to turn on.

4. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

Then yes, it is possibly that valve. I think the valve is turned enough to be off, but the seats may be seeping.

Weird way to turn on your sprinklers. No back flow protection here? No sprinkler valves?

5. bigH2Obill

There are two of them, one controls the heads on the left side of the house, the other (this one) the right. That's why I thought this was it...you can look at both of them side-by-side and see that this one isn't closed as much, and since it controls the water for the heads on the side where I have the leak I figured that was the problem.

I just dug this hole less than an hour ago, and can see the water seeping from the drain holes in the casing.

2007_0924Image0003.jpg

6. bigH2Obill