Is it too late to change my name?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by JHLC, Sep 23, 2007.

1. JHLC

JHLC LawnSite Member

I have been debating on changing the name of my business and I wanted to get some of your opinions. I have been doing lawn maintenance solo for six years and am to the point were I need to hire someone or stop taking on work. I want to advertise heavily next season and hire a helper but I think if I am going to change the business name I need to do it first. My name now is my first and last name lawn care. I feel like it just doesn't have a very professional sound to it. I have been thinking about it for a while now and have a few names in mind but I haven't settled on one yet. Some people I have talked to say that I have "branded" my name and that by changing it now I would loose any name recognition that I have. I have found that most of the calls I get now are from people who say that they saw me working down the street or from referrals from other customers. I don't see the new name effecting these calls. Any help would be appreciated.

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I would suggest a subtle change along the same lines of what you have now, such as shortening it to your initials first, then expanding... That's what I've seen small business owners do to prevent the loss, usually it takes two changes (about 2-4 years apart)... Take your time between the first and final change, a few years, otherwise it fails to blend smoothly.
    As for customers who ask, it's a formality, just some minor internal changes, might be hiring a worker.
    Here is how it works:

Example original name: John Doe Lawn Care
    Example first change: J.D. Lawn Care
    Example final change: J.D. Lawn Care & Co.

You might also keep your name and first go: John Doe Lawn Care & Co.
    Maybe later shorten it to: J.D. Lawn Care & Co.

3. Mrs. H

Mrs. H LawnSite Senior Member

David did this after 3 years.