Is liquid cooled worth the cost?

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by palmtree, May 13, 2005.

1. palmtree

palmtree LawnSite Member

Do you guys/gals think it is worth the extra cost for a liquid cooled engine? If it were just the engine I would go for it. My problem is that liquid cooled is usually only offered on higher end machines. I will only be cutting my own 8.5 acre lawn weekly or so. The main reason I like the idea of liquid cooled is because they should be quieter. I am looking at the Grasshopper 223-61" but it only comes with a air cooled engine. If I want a liquid cooled I have to move up to the 300 series and about $2000 more. What do ya think? I am new to this commercial mower stuff.
    Thanks,
    Brett

2. wushaw

wushaw LawnSite Member

That's a good question and I would think an air cooled motor would just work just fine.
    The only difference is a liquid cooled motor would be able to run cooler and maybe last a little longer.
    I just got a 322d Grasshopper and it is a mowin machine :D

3. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

liquid cooled engines will out last air cooled and IMO worth the extra $$$. If your only going to mow your own 8 acres a liquid cooled "hopper" should last you the rest of your life. I've seen them with over 9k hrs on them and still running strong. So for approx. 2k more you will get twice the life out of the engine.

4. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

I agree. Go with the liquid cooled. Not only will it run quieter but it will burn less fuel and last twice as long.

5. dfischer58

dfischer58 LawnSite Member

Well, I’m a bit surprised:

“9k hours and still running strong”.

In car terms, at only 60 mph, when your car is requiring maybe 20% of rated power, that would be over ½ million miles. I’m surprised to hear a lawn engine, running near it’s power peak, is outdoing over the road diesels.