Is Moly grease the right kind?

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Lynden-Jeff, Aug 7, 2006.

1. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey,

I am just about to grease all the points on my bobcat for the first time. I bought an Extreme Moly grease. Its black if they makes a difference. Is this ok for most grease points? I do not have greaseable spindels. Also ive read that you should not mix certain types of grease. I don't know what grease my dealer uses but it looks red and may be made by LUCAS.

Cheers
    Jeff

2. Kartracer55

Kartracer55 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

For the record, "Moly Grease" is grease with Molybdenum DiSulfide added to it. This is becoming a very common thing. What we dont know is what the BASE of the grease is. IIRC, MoS2 as well as graphite are just additives to grease for metal/metal contact in high heat/stress applications where the rest of the grease may begin to break down. Im not a chemical engineer so I cant give you much more on that. The base of a grease is where you run into problems with mixing different types. Youve probably heard of Lithium based grease, but theres also Sodium Grease and Polyeurea grease, as well as many others I cant begin to explain about. Some bases are compatable others are not. If you're REALLY concerned I would call up the shop that last greased the machine and find out the brand and type of grease they use(d), although It was most likely a regular old Lithium based NLGI 2 chassis/wheel bearing grease. As long as the thickness and Base is the same dont worry. Hell, just think about how many guys dont even wonder about what you just ask and use whatever they grab first?

As for mixing greases, this is true to an extent. The brand doesnt really matter as long as the TYPE of grease is the same. For automotive wheel bearings and other high stress/risk deals stick to one brand of grease but nothing on a mower is going to be THAT critical, ya know?