Is no lawns possible?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Flipperneck, May 19, 2005.

1. Flipperneck

Flipperneck LawnSite Member

I just started my own Lawn and Landscape business about a month and a half ago. I have been Landscaping for 10 years now. I never cared for the lawn side of the business but always just assumed you needed the lawns to get the landscaping, which hasn't been the case for me so far. I have 9 lawns and even though they are mine and I do an awesome job on them but I still have no desire to do my route when it comes around. I have been making a hell of alot more with the Landscaping side so far. I have been working about three days a week Landscaping and only one day cutting. I got most of my work from homemade flyers printed up at kinkos and place at local stores. I put some money in to get the basics so far and am showing profit already I came into some money awhile ago and have been saving it. Now my dilemna is most of my profit comes from landscaping and I'm still showing a loss on the lawns(I know its only been a month). I am going to invest in more equipment in July I would rather buy a used skidsteer and drop my lawns all together but am wondering if lawns are just something you have to do to fill those voids between jobs.

2. sheshovel

sheshovel LawnSite Fanatic

That's totaly up to you,there are no rules when it comes to crossing over,you gotta go with your gut is the only advice I can offer you.Well really that I will offer you on this subject.

3. kris

kris LawnSite Bronze Member
    from nowhere

Most guys started with maintenance but we are the other way around.

We didn't do any maintenance until around 4 years ago ...it's about 10-15% of our gross now. Glad we have it but it wouldn't be the end of the world if we didnt.

4. Flipperneck

Flipperneck LawnSite Member