Is this a good deal?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 2006Silverado, Jun 29, 2007.

1. 2006Silverado

2006Silverado LawnSite Member
    from GA

Newbie here, looking to start a lawn care business. Just looking for opinions on a deal on some equipment.

The guy wants $7500.
    Includes: Exmark 36" Turf Tracer WB (hydraulic)
    Exmark 21" 6.5hp Pushmower (push, not self-propelled)
    Stihl HL100 Trimmer (straight)
    Stihl FC75 Edger
    6x14 split gate, dbl-axle trailer, w/racks
    WB Edger (not sure on brand or model)

Everything was used for 1 day, then put away for 7 months...

Any ideas? Should I jump all over this? Or should I be patient and wait for better deal?

2. gavin478

gavin478 LawnSite Member

OK, lets break this down

#1, most importntly what's it worth to you? Will this fit your needs?

#2 break it down piece by piece (this is what I think they would cost, as is)
    - 36" TT - 3000
    - 21" - 300?
    - HL100 - 350
    - FC75 - 275
    - 6x14, priced these out a year ago around 1400
    - Edger - 150? (assuming homeowner model)

Grand Total - $5000 to $6000

I say NO DEAL

Go out and buy what YOU need, not what someone else needed.

3. 2006Silverado

from GA

Here's what I was quoted by a dealer for pricing:

Exmark 36" TT $5000
    Exmark 21" pushmower $900
    HL100 Trimmer $520
    FC75 Edger $300
    The trailer, w/rack and basket, dbl-axle, I'm guesstimating about $1400-2000???

4. gavin478

gavin478 LawnSite Member

yeah, so it's a good deal, but not amazing, and only worth it to you if you need all of it. If you do, then go for it, but remember that you may be better off buying a used fixed deck walk behind and a nice trimmer and trailer for a couple grand less.

It's you money, I'm just trying to help you make the best decision. Also those dealer prices may be before any negotiation as well.

5. gavin478

gavin478 LawnSite Member