1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Is this estimate too high?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by bzmillerboy, Mar 25, 2009.

1. bzmillerboy

bzmillerboy LawnSite Member

I am just getting into the lawn care business and one of my first jobs I landed (or hope to land) is a huge mulch and spring cleaning at a residence.

I measured all his mulch beds and came out to 9558 square feet (I know it's a triple lot and huge house). At 2" dept I figured about 59 yards - 9 yards for plants and rocks, so 50 yards to lay. He wanted 708 feet re-edged and I needed to cut down all the dead flowers and shrubs.

After sending this to him he came back and felt it was too steep? I'm in KY.

Black Dye Mulch ($35.50 per yard, delivery included) 50 yards $1,775.00

TOTAL MATERIALS: $1,775.00

Spring Clean-Up: ($35 per hour) 20 hrs $700.00
    Cut dead landscaping and dispose
    Pickup and dispose of garbage
    Pickup and dispose of debris and tree limbs
    Vacuum lawn and dispose of leaves
    Clean up and rebuild rock beds
    Re-Edge Mulch Beds ($.80 a foot, includes final trimming) 708 feet $566.40
    Edging Volume Discount (-$.30 a foot) -$212.40
    Lay Mulch ($35 per yard) 50 yards $1,750.00
    Lay Mulch Volume Discount (-$5.00 a yard) -$250.00

TOTAL LABOR: $1,854.00

TOTAL ESTIMATE $3,629.00
  2. newtostone

newtostone LawnSite Senior Member
    from NY

I ran my numbers and your in the middle depending on the job and what other work you do for him/her. Not too bad but I am not sure of your area and labor seems a bit low.
  3. ALLPro Landscaping

ALLPro Landscaping LawnSite Senior Member