is this faster

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ronslawncare, Nov 4, 2000.

1. ronslawncare

ronslawncare LawnSite Senior Member

im a newby to lawn care from longisland ny. ive been noticeing alot of different landscapers run like 5 trailers.i watch them do this all the time they get one guy from the crew drop the hole trailer off with all the equiptment pick up another trailer drop another guy and trailer off at another house with all me i think it just would be faster in finishing up 1 job at a time with all your help...i dont no also this is my first year in this business i love it good money if u have any great tips for me for just starting that would be great.
  2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

You would think it would be that way but that's not the case. If you take 2 guys that work at the same pace and give them identical equiptment they can get more work done separately than together. At least that's the case where I live.

There are 2 reasons for this.

In my area it is not unusual to hardly ever have more than 2 houses that can be cut without packing up and moving equiptment. Each time the crew has to move it takes a minimum of 10 minutes. For each additional guy you have on a crew the amount of time on the job is reduced by 33%. If you have a job that takes 1 man 60 minutes to do it will take 2 men 40 minutes to do the same job. This is because of the way we traditionally divy up work. More on this in a minute.

The problem with having more than 1 man on a crew comes down to time spent working and time spent moving.

Let's assume it takes 1 man 1 hour to do each job on his route. Let's also assume it takes him 10 minutes to move between jobs. In an 8 hour day this man by himself can get 7 jobs done. That's 7 jobs@1 hr. each = 7 hrs. plus 6 moves@10 mins. each = 1 hour for a total of 8 hours.

So 2 guys seperately should be able to cut 14 yards total at 7 yards each in 8 hours.