Is this lowballing?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by lawnguy72404, Jun 22, 2006.

1. lawnguy72404

lawnguy72404 LawnSite Member

Do you guys feel that offering discounts to certain groups like firemen, police officers etc... would be lowballing. I think this may be a good way of building clients and goodwill? I want to do it the right way though. Thanks

2. Lynch Landscaping

Lynch Landscaping LawnSite Member

I don't think that's lowballing because people like them help everyone so we need to help them.

3. rustyb265

rustyb265 LawnSite Member

I am a policeman with a lawn care business on the side. First of all I can tell you that I dont think this is lowballing. It is simply a marketting strategy. But....I can also tell you that I hate when people offer me discouts just because I am a cop. (other than coffee at dunkin donuts :) ) It is kinda embrassing to me. I make a decent salary and although I work very hard to support my family, I understand that I am much better off than some people. THis is just my opinion...I am sure you will find plenty of cops and fireman that welcome the discount. Just be careful you dont lose business because of offending people or making them feel uncomfortable.

4. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Rusty- funny you talk about free coffee- in my suburb of Chicago that I used to live they wanted to ban giving free coffee because the duty guys would hang at the DD and other business felt they were not getting equal protection.

72404 The question would be asked "why them" or "why should I pay more just because I work in an office- I guess I will call Mr. Equal LCO"

In a lot of cases, singling out certain groups is predigest. Seniors are safe but be careful of the others

5. Freddy_Kruger

Freddy_Kruger LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree, Charge cops extra, old ladies to. I just got fired by one today.