Is this true?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TJLC, Feb 22, 2001.

1. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member

My mom in cincinnati just e-mailed me and told me she got a flyer today from a lawn company that claims they can reduce the frequency of mowing and the amount of grass clippings by as much as 50% for 4-6 weeks, long enough to get through the spring surge. They say they can accomplish this by reducing the growth rate of the turf grass. Knowing that alot of you guys are up north I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of this. Thanks for any thoughts.

2. Scott Campbell

Scott Campbell LawnSite Member

I've not heard of anything like that around here yet, but I am relatively new to the commercial side of the biz. If it's true, then I can see many bags of Miracle Grow in the future. ;)

3. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

Yes it is true. You can put a growth regulator on it in a spray form and slow down the growth. It's been around for a while. :)

4. Scott Campbell

Scott Campbell LawnSite Member

Shows what I know. :eek:

5. Island Lawn

Island Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

Makes me wonder if that if it is such a great thing, why aren't we all doing it???

It must not be "all that"!

6. Kansas Turf Man

Kansas Turf Man LawnSite Member

Yes this is true. I go to Kansas State University. In my turf science we did an experiment with some of the growth regulators. Many of them work for up to 6 weeks. The best one on the market is Premo turf growth regulator. It will stop top growth in about 10 days then work about 6 weeks.

7. Forever Green Lawn

Forever Green Lawn LawnSite Senior Member