It's becoming obvious the money is...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Bassman, Jul 28, 2000.

1. Bassman

Bassman LawnSite Senior Member

If I'm missing something here please respond and give me your opinion. I've been full time only 3 weeks. I am firm about my compensation averaging $30 hour. Of course I don't tell the customer that but figure it in my estimated time to do the work requested. The better paying jobs so far are weeding, mulching, decorative stone work with weed block liner, hedge & shrub trimming and pruning, etc. I bid these at $40/hour after learning very quickly that they are MUCH more demanding physically. I am just learning the art of bidding properly & had been too low on a few non mowing jobs so decided to take the advice of another poster on this board to bid 25% or so over what I thought was my time involved for a hedge and plant trimming job. Bid was accepted. This worked out to app. $50 hour. Customer was happy and so am I. Helps offset some of the cheapskate fixed income mow my lawn every two weeks for the price of weekly cut customers. All you veterans probably know this but wanting comments. So far prospects for non mowing landscape work don't seem to bat an eye at paying decent compensation for the work involved. <br>Anyone else find this type work much more lucrative? I'd rather be on my ztr all day but can't pass up the revenue for the more physically draining but well paying work.<br>Bassman
  2. accuratelawn

accuratelawn LawnSite Senior Member

I found this work to be much more profitable.<br>I try to have a few trimming, mulching, or other landscape jobs on the back burner for when it is too wet or dry to mow.<br>Alot for physical work.
  3. geogunn

geogunn LawnSite Gold Member
    from TN