I've got to clean house, start new and smart

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by matthew horner, Feb 8, 2004.

1. matthew horner

matthew horner LawnSite Senior Member

Ok, I'm a landscaper 80%, and mower 20%, and I'm trying to reverse that. I currently own a toro proline wb 52 inch, a john deere wb 38 inch, and a hustler 54 inch shortcut, and a scag turf runner. I've only used the scag for one hour. I bought it for 2k and it has 500 hours on it and 10 hours on the motor. I figured good deal. I bought the shortcut for 1k not running, but will soon have that mower up and running. I LOVE my toro wb with sulky. I really haven't used the john deere ( i paid $100 for it, fixed it, and haven't used it). Here's the thing. I bought the scag with plans to use it as my primary mower. However, its feather touch controled! I REALLY want a toro or exmark z turn rider. I just feel and have heard that these are quality machines. I like the look, they both just look like a mower should. I wonder if i should sell the scag ( i think I can get more than 2k) and maybe the john deere, and get a 60" toro or exmark. Maybe I should even sell my toro wb and get a smaller one to compliment the rider I buy. But the used riders are almost as much as a new one. Whats going on. I would love to just get a good deal on a used exmark or toro in decent shape with less than 1000 hours. Its either that or just use the scag, and this mower just does'nt seem friendly to my tastes. Any opinions?

2. sildoc

sildoc LawnSite Silver Member

You said you only put an hour on the scag. Try it longer and then make your mind up. sometimes it just takes a little time to find out you really like it.
    for instance you buy a new cd for one song you really like. You hear it the first time and think this cd sucks. you listen to it a few more times and all of a sudden you like more than just that one song you picked it up for.

3. MudslinginFX4

MudslinginFX4 LawnSite Bronze Member