1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I've had it.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by shorty7616, Apr 20, 2005.

1. shorty7616

shorty7616 LawnSite Member

I have been mowing this one property for 6 years, The owner has become somewhat unreasonable in the past year or two. During the summer he opens at 9:30, well its a putt putt place so customers walk around, meaning that we need to be done by 9:30 on the inside- so we have to start by 7:30. There will be days that he opens up at 8:45 or 9:00, so we have to work around daycares, etc. other days he complains because the grass was wet from the dew and its all over the fence and lights. One thing after another.

I decided to raise his price 5% this year, he wasn't happy about it but who cares. Well, I just got a voicemail saying that I don't blow out the lights (these light up the landscaping and putting greens) and its causing the lights to short out. I have NEVER blowns out the lights....he has become lazy over the past year and won't replace the lights, basically hes trying to get me do more work....and justify the 5% increase.

I have had it, its a small issue, but I am about ready to drop him. Especially since this is my last year doing this.

Whats everyone else's take?
  2. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

Once a PITA...always a PITA. Raise the rent on him again and tell him the increase is for "extra services". If he drops service, so be it. If he accepts the additional price increase...blow out the lights.
  3. Rob's landscaping

Rob's landscaping LawnSite Member

Good for you! Being your last year of grass my last one too it's to much :blob3:
  4. TeamFla

TeamFla LawnSite Member

I agree,

Ask for more $$ to compensate or let it go.
  5. pjslawncare/landscap

pjslawncare/landscap LawnSite Bronze Member