John Deere 757

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tacovic, Jun 11, 2011.

1. tacovic

tacovic LawnSite Member

Im going to look at a 2008 54" JD 757 with a 23 hp kawasaki with 400 hours tomorrow. Its got the 7 iron deck. Anything I should be looking for? This will be my main mower so I need a reliable machine with a nice cut. Whats everyones opinion on this mower?

2. lawnsrme

lawnsrme LawnSite Member

We have a 757 and a 737. 757 has a 25 hp and the 737 has a 23 hp. I like the machines but they had overheating issues. Both of ours had a screen put in to keep debris from getting into the airflow chambers in the heads. I'm not a mechanic or anything just what i was told. our 737 had a new motor at about 700 hrs and now has around 1400 hrs and the 757 had some head work done around 800 hrs and now has around 1600 hrs. Everything was covered under warranty. I try to keep everything blown out good because of the overheating. Havent had any problems so for. I put in synthetic oil 15w50 after the warranty was up. The one is starting to leak oil pretty good. Other than that not bad.

Had problems with the one of the wheel motors and the pump on the 737. was under warranty. no problems with the 757, all original. Over all I like the mowers. Keep the oil and filters changed and keep everything greased good and it'll probably be a good mower for you.

3. tacovic

tacovic LawnSite Member

Thanks alot for the reply. How do you think these machines compare to others such as exmark/toro or scag? Do you think they are an equally solid machine? Was the 23 hp motor underpowered?

4. momstmg

momstmg LawnSite Member

Yes they are underpowered for hills, thick, or higher than normal grass. I had two 7 series(23 hp and 25 hp models). Great cutting machines just need a little more power. I have a z950 with 31 hp Now and It doesn't bog at all.
    Posted via Mobile Device

5. rreyn1812

rreyn1812 LawnSite Senior Member