John Deere F725 Out Front Mower-Are they any good?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BAD, Jun 27, 2005.

1. BAD

BAD LawnSite Member

Has anyone ever had an experience with a John Deere F725? I am thinking about purchasing one and wondering how they hold up. Would appreciate any opinions.
    Thanks,
    Bobby

2. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

I don't know about the John Deere but the larger lawn care companys around her swear by the Grasshopper front mounts. I can see where a front mount would come in handy but the mid mounts seem to have most of the market. I just looked at a picture of the F725. I'm no expert but it looks like the grass hopper would run circles around this particular John Deere model. Why would you want the steering wheel over levers? But as far as holding up John Deere has a great reputation in that area. Good luck on whatever you buy. Test drive several models before buying would be my advice. Lots of good companies to choose from.

3. heavenlydeere

heavenlydeere LawnSite Member

i believe the f725 is an old design so why would jd keep making and selling it if it were junk? ive seen lots of these machines used by municipalities everywhere they are just an old workhorse and a great design that people still want! imo its a good machine!

4. DUSTYCEDAR

DUSTYCEDAR LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

they make it due to people that r not real good with the sticks they need a wheel its eaiser to put a new guy on a wheel and let him go they r also very nice mowers to boot i have run them and i like them in the wide areas they r great and not bad in the small spots also

5. hnter

hnter LawnSite Member