john deere or xmark

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Jeff Voorhies, May 19, 2006.

1. Jeff Voorhies

Jeff Voorhies LawnSite Member

Gentlemen:

I have narrowed my search down to the Exmark Lazer ZHP 46" or the John Deere 717A 48" cut. Both have 19HP Engines. They are close to each other in price and both have dealerships close to my home. Which one would you choose. I am not a professional and will only be cutting around 4 acres.

Thanks

2. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member

I owned a 717 and now have a exmark and a 737 and I would choose the 717 hands down without a second thought. However, if you have a sorry dealer no matter what you get can be a bad experience so make sure there is good dealer support no matter what you decide to get.

3. Frosty03

Frosty03 LawnSite Member

I would go with the Exmark.

Have you seen the decks on the JD? They are all stamped.

I've had a bad experience with JD on a homeowner model tractor. 60 hours on it and the coil went, 2 spindles went "dry" (sealed units) and one idler pulley siezed-up.

The dealer told me that they had been having problems and promptly sold me a upgraded set of spindles. Notice I said sold...So I have had to replace all spindles and idler pulleys at 60 hours...I am sorry, 61 hours.

I have a new TTHP Exmark and that mower is built and has a superb quality cut.

4. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I bought a JD 717A about three weeks ago. It is an excellent piece of equipment with my limited experience (35 hours). The quality of cut is superb, far better than I had expected -- stamped deck, or no stamped deck. It does not stripe, but leaves a carpet cut.

I have an Exmark 36" Viking w/b. The wheel tracking on the smaller w/b is far heavier than with the JD ZTR. A week later, I have to look hard to see which mowing pattern I used last time with the ZTR. Not so with the w/b - the wheel lines are much more pronounced.