John Deere vs. Hustler

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Samdoesitall, Mar 13, 2007.

1. Samdoesitall

Samdoesitall LawnSite Member

Hey all,
    I've been mowing with a John Deere 757 for 5 years now and love it.
    But now I have to buy another mower due to a restructuring in our business.
    The choice is between a John Deere 757 60in or a Super Z Hustler 60 inch. (54 inch deck would work also)

I've heard a lot about the Hustlers and was wondering if anybody has tried them both. The main concern is the deck. How does the Hustler cut? In wet grass? Clumps?

I have no complaints about Deere. But I don't know if Im missing out on an even better thing :)

2. lawnman757

lawnman757 LawnSite Member
    from MD

If your dealer support is good that is a toss up. I have the same mower and purchased a Hustler 26 kaw. / 60" deck last year. Hustler has outstanding support, as I was unhappy with the performace of the mower and they made me an offer at the end of the year to upgrade that i could not turn down. The deere will cut wet grass better then anything I've ever used, along with strong power on hills and never seems to bog down (no matter what). This might be why I was disappointed in the first Hustler. On the other hand the Hustler is more comfortable and faster. Like stated earlier in this post, I cannot beat my dealers support. Deere on the hand lacks the customer support needed to keep you stay reliable if a problem occurs. Just my opinion.

3. Samdoesitall

Thanks man. I am a Deere guy at heart but I am willing to listen.
    Any other input? Or does John Deere win?
  4. LCPullman

LCPullman LawnSite Senior Member

If you are satisfied with what you have, stick with it and buy another John Deere.

Hustler makes a good product and has excellent support, but I'd have to recommend sticking with what your used to. You know its going to work for you.
  5. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic