Just a lil help

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Equalizer, Mar 30, 2007.

1. Equalizer

Equalizer LawnSite Member

A quick question for you all. Do you know if you need to get licensed in MD? I'm just starting out and am not 100% sure on all the legal stuff that I need. If you all could help out a new guy, I would greatly appreciate it. Anything would help. Thanks, Dave

2. Ecoscape01

Ecoscape01 LawnSite Senior Member

3. TNT LawnCare Inc.

TNT LawnCare Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member

Licensed to do what ? Cut Grass.Fertalize ??

4. Equalizer

To cut grass and fertalize, plant flowers and shrubs. Maybe do some light landscaping, I dont really know yet for sure what I'll be doing but definately cutting and triming. Thanks for your input. Dave

5. TNT LawnCare Inc.

Yes you need a License to fertalize.Yes you need a M.H.I.C. # if you plan to do some landscaping which would require excavating. No you dont need a license to cut and trim,but you do need a Tax I.D. # if your gonna start a business, i would also reccomend some type of liability insurance.

6. Equalizer

Thanks for your help with this question. Real quick what is a M.H.I.C. #?

7. Equalizer

And also, about how long does it take before your liability insurance would kick in. A stupid question, I'm sure, but just tryin to get an idea. Thanks again

8. Ecoscape01

Ecoscape01 LawnSite Senior Member