just a question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ALAN'S LAWN CARE, May 5, 2005.

ALAN'S LAWN CARE LawnSite Member
    from IOWA

im not trying to stir the pot or start anything that will come back to haunt me..i just have a quick question with out opening a can of worms.....if i just mow lawns will i need to charge tax??/will i need to have insurance.....do i need to be bonded??im just starting out im just gonna mkow lawns....ive heard that you dont need insurance..ideas?? thanks guys
  2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Will you need to charge sales tax? Well that depends if your state requires you to collect sales tax for services rendered. Here in PA, yes we do.
    Do you need to be bonded? No. Should you have insurance? Yes, incase there is an accident. Should you report your money to uncle sam? YES.
  3. BobR

BobR LawnSite Senior Member

Bit of advice - get insurance, it is cheap enough if you are just mowing. I would suggest a 1m policy but you have to decide what risk you want to take. Replacing a window is cheap enough but what if you put someones eye out, without insurance they will have everything you have worked so hard for.
    Taxes and licenses are State & Local issues, here in NY mowing is a 'service' and you are required to collect and pay taxes and a license is just getting your business name registered in the county you live in. I personally know guys here in NY that have none of the above and they say they 'don't need it' I personally won't take the risk.

4. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

its so cheap to be legal,, ohio lawn care is taxable if you gross over 5000, licence was 25 and my insurance was 385 with only 85 down the rest is monthly,