Just about to give up..

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jarrells74, Apr 21, 2003.

1. Jarrells74

Jarrells74 LawnSite Member

I read these threads everyday and it baffles me that so many of you are so busy. This is my first year in the business. I had an add in the paper that is gonna run out this week, and I didn't get many calls at all. It was in for a month. Maybe I didn't get calls because there are about 60 other adds in there as well. Seems that everyone and there mother is doing LawnCare this year. I have fliers out too, and business cards. I could put more fliers out, but I just keep sinking money into this biz and getting nothing in return. It is a joke. I am just about to a point now to cut my losses and sell my equipment. This just isn't working. I have 3 accounts and they are not real close to each other. I am not making nothing. I must be in a bad area or something. Anyone else close to me, and having this problem? It is a VERY depressing time around here. This is my dream, and it looks like it isn't gonna work out. :( Anyone have any suggestions? I just can't keep doing this and not making money.. My wife works and it breaks my heart that I can't contribute as much as I want too. I was hoping(or just dreaming I guess) that I would be able to get this biz off the ground and then hire my wife to do the paper work in a few years or so. She would love that.. She wants me to succeed, but she is getting depressed too. My job closed their doors last year, and I kinda got forced into this biz earlier then I wanted too. I work part time on the weekends just so I could do this business. Well, I have said enough. I just wanted to vent my feelings on here. Didn't want this to be a sob story, sorry. Well, good luck to you all. I wish SO much that I could be out there too, but it isn't looking to promising. :(

2. Rhett

Rhett LawnSite Bronze Member