1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just bought a lawn business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by nautica1580, Nov 9, 2007.

1. nautica1580

nautica1580 LawnSite Member

I just recently purchased a lawn business, it included:

5x10 enclosed trailer
    52" Button Zero Turn- 18 Horse Briggs
    2 Echo Weedeaters
    1 Echo Edger
    2 Handheld Blowers
    Spray Tank
    All the maintence equipment

8 Small Residental Accounts

I am looking to pickup anywhere from 12-17 more accounts. I am self employed in real-estate with it being so slow and a lawn business became available at a great deal so I decided a lawn business part time wouldnt be a bad idea. I worked with my dad for 5-6 years when I was in school years ago doing lawncare so I have plenty of experience. He was pushing 200 accounts in his hay-day. Does anyone have any suggestions to picking up new accounts without spending a boat load on marketing? Any input about the business or things I need to be aware of. I appreciate your responses in advane.

2. DK lawn care

DK lawn care LawnSite Senior Member

Id look for some neighbor hoods. Find some that u like and go door to door. Explain ur rates, what kind of equipment u use and ur experience.
  3. lifetree

lifetree LawnSite Fanatic

Sounds like a good marketing plan !!
  4. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

make sure you send out letters informing the customers of the new owner
  5. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Some folks might think a Realtor is just a glorified new car dealership salesman, a step or two above maybe.