1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just Getting Started

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Fresh Cut 518, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Fresh Cut 518

Fresh Cut 518 LawnSite Member

He guys, this is my very first post. I have been reading a lot off this site for the past two weeks or so. I have learned a lot and hope to keep learning.
    I have been working for a landscaper for the fast 5 years. Now that I am just starting my own business I need customers. I plan on going through about 10 neighborhoods in my general area (10mi or so) and handing out flyers and talking to homeowners when the snow starts to melt. My goal is 40 lawns at about $30-$40 for my first year. This flyer I am posting is the one I am going to hand out to only 3 of the 10 neighborhoods I have been looking at. I am offering a free spring cleanup for a summer mowing service. My question is this. Am I crazy for doing this? Remember this: The yards in these 3 neighborhoods are very small. I don’t mind working for free if it will pay in the long run.

Thanks Chris

Attached Files:

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

I think that the flyer looks pretty good, however I would not offer a free spring cleanup. I would not offer a free anything. Your time and services are worth money. A discount would be fine but not free. Just my opinion. Hope it helps. If you got any other questions, just ask.
  3. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT