Just got mower today????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by kona, Apr 22, 2002.

1. kona

kona LawnSite Member

I just got my 1st walk behind mower today ( EXMARK 48" Metro).
    -What is the best way to make turns when cutting so i won't make little dimples in the lawn with my wheels.?
    -Can i run a mulch kit all the time?
    - Is there a special pattern to follow as a rule of thumb when cutting lawns.?
    THANKS i am just starting out !!!!!
  2. accuratelawn

accuratelawn LawnSite Senior Member

I'm glad you bought a mower....finalsy. Is I hydro or belt?
  3. Toroguy

Toroguy LawnSite Bronze Member

Congrats Kona,

When turning make sure the inside wheel of the turn keeps rotating, if it stops the turf will tear and little dead spots will appear in a week or two. If you turn left the right wheel will be going faster than the left wheel, and opposite for a right turn.

You can leave your mulch kit as long as it is not bogging down. I personally remove it during Summer.

Alternate mowing directions. Search "stripes" for good tips on them.

Good luck
  4. AielLandscaping

AielLandscaping LawnSite Senior Member

i've got a question on similar lines as this one...

you guys that lay stripes, how do you get the stripes to look so straight even when you have a tree in your path? i don't get how you can keep the lines perfect... what's the secret?
  5. 2 man crew

2 man crew LawnSite Senior Member