1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just looking for some advice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by grasshawg, Dec 11, 2005.

1. grasshawg

grasshawg LawnSite Member

I am a 36 yo Truck Driver who is sick and tired of listening to my kids grow up over the phone. I have always wanted to start a business, and I am very interested in the lawn care industry. I think I have a pretty good handle on being professional and impressing people.
    But I need some specific advice on the best equipment, how to bid contracts, and something I'm wondering about: Would it be worth my time to save my grass clippings and sell them somewhere? Is there a market out there for that stuff? Figured if there is, I can offset some of my business expense.
    Also, I have no surplus laid up to sustain myself until money starts to come in. Are contacts negotiated on a yearly basis paid in monthly installments? How does it all work? Or is it simply on a case by case basis--whatever you and a prospective client can agree on?
    I have a wife and three kids to support, so I have to hit the ground running!! Anybody got any suggestions that would be of help to me? Thanks!!
  2. Trinity Lawn Care  LLC

Trinity Lawn Care LLC LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

Hey Grasshawg,