1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just Not Sure Need Advice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by RPM1, Nov 22, 2006.

1. RPM1

RPM1 LawnSite Member

I am new to the mowing industry not sure what direction to go with my business i need to find a way to attract good respectful clients whether it be commercial or residential , i do not have alot of experience and looking for some guidance to get me going in the correct direction, the mowing business seems to be pretty cut throat and i do not like that, (i just do not want to mow grass to say i mow grass) besides everybody on here is in this business to make money i just do not want to work my tail off to get to the end of the week to find i really did not make anything for all my efforts
  2. BQLC

BQLC LawnSite Senior Member

1. Quality work ( word of mouth referals)
    2. do not lowball
    3. advertise (Flyers, post cards, door hangers)
    4. stick to your price
    Hope this helps
    Good Luck
  3. Lawnut101

Lawnut101 LawnSite Silver Member

Residential is a good place to start as commercial jobs may be hard to get at first. Once your name is established, you shouldn't have any trouble getting commercial jobs.

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Let your customers know that you are looking for new clients all the time...offer some incentive for referrals of some sort. If you do good work and your customers like you they will try to help you out (some of them anyway)

Just be on the ball so to speak...there are a million companies cutting grass...make sure you return all phone calls same day and in general make it seem like you know what you are doing (not implying that you don't)
  5. DaughtryLC

DaughtryLC LawnSite Senior Member

Do not get discouraged, Do quality work and the word will spread!
  6. Grass-Masters